Slow Cooker Sunday – Murgh Makhani (mild)

I live in a smallish suburb in the midwest. Several months ago the only Indian restaurant near us closed, and with them they took my favorite dish, Murgh Makhani (also known as chicken makhani or butter chicken). This week we were passing our old haunt…my mouth started watering and I knew my mission for Slow Cooker Sunday.

I do have two littles, so I opted for a very mild version of the dish. (Okay, I won’t kid you…I actually prefer my makhani mild…but I will blame it on them!) If you can take the heat, you might try adding a bit of cayenne pepper to the pot – a little goes a long way!

Slow Cooker Murgh Makhani (mild)

What you will need:

1 small onion, minced
1.5 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast
2 tbsp butter
1 13.5 oz can coconut milk
1/4 cup half & half
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
1 6 oz can tomato paste
3 cloves minced garlic
3/4 tsp ground ginger (this is what I had on hand, you can use fresh, grated ginger)
1 tsp red curry paste
2 tsp curry powder
2 tbsp garam masala
1/2 tsp turmeric
salt to taste

Directions:

In a large bowl whisk together coconut milk, half & half, yogurt, tomato paste, garlic, ginger, curry paste, curry powder, garam masala, turmeric and salt. Cut the chicken into bite-sized chunks. Place the chicken and minced onion in the crockpot. Pour your sauce over the chicken, top the mixture with butter and cover. Cook on low for 6 – 8 hours.

I served the makhani with jasmine rice and whole wheat naan. If you’re feeling extra inspired, try this recipe for Homemade Naan from Lingonberry Jam!

IMG_20140727_193048935

 

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sunday – Murgh Makhani (mild)

I Heart Comments

