Slow Cooker Sunday

Tex-mex food is my “one weakness”. Earlier this week I was reading through some blogs and I came across a super easy recipe for Crock Pot Southwest Chicken over at Modern Day Proverbs Wife. While I’m not going to kid you about it being a “foodie” recipe, it certainly has some of my favorite things, topped with a big ol’ helping of cream cheese (though in the interest of full disclosure, I forewent the cream cheese and opted for a healthy-sized dollop of sour cream on the finished product) and cooked in the slow cooker. All I had to do on my lazy Sunday was throw it together and leave it be.

Crock Pot Southwest Chicken

To replicate her recipe exactly you will need:

3 frozen large chicken breasts (about 1.5 pounds)
1 15.25 ounce can of corn, drained
1 15.25 ounce can of black beans, rinsed and drained
1 15 ounce jar of salsa
1 8 ounce package of cream cheese

I did add a tbsp of Mexican oregano, a tsp of ancho chili powder and a bit of pepper. I always encourage you to play up your recipes with your favorite herbs and spices.

Directions:
Place the frozen chicken, corn, beans and salsa (and any of your favorite add-ins) in a slow cooker. Cook on high heat for 4-5 hours. In the last 30 minutes of cooking, add the cream cheese to the pot. Cover and heat until the cream cheese melts and mix it in.

For serving, I suggest ladling over a heap of rice. I chose yellow, Spanish style rice. Click through if you would like to try the Cilantro Lime Rice as suggested by Modern Day Proverbs Wife.

southwestchicken

Mmmm…

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sunday

I Heart Comments

