My Sampler Challenge

I have to come clean. I have drawers, bags and boxes full of samplers that I never get around to trying. Every time I notice a stash of samples here or there I always think to myself…the next time I don’t have anything planned, I’m going to try that. Or, I’m going to grab that sample the next time I grab a shower. I never do though. My next “favorite thing” just sits there, undiscovered. My aim is to make a conscious and accountable effort to finally try a sampling of my samplers every week and share them with you here. Let my first offering begin.

IMG_20140712_181524770

Derma e Evenly Radiant Brightening Cleanser

This first thing I noticed about this cleanser was a pleasant, fresh, citrusy fragrance. Upon use, I found it to be a mild cleanser. It did not lather as much as I expected but it rinsed off clean and easily. As far as brightening, I imagine I would need more applications to judge that accurately as the sample packet was rather small. The company does boast that they are 100% vegan, eco-friendly, paraben-free, gluten-free, GMO-free and cruelty-free.

In my opinion, effectiveness being the only determining factor, this product is similar to other products available in local health and beauty departments for 1/3 of the price. However, if you would like to try samples for yourself, click here for a collection of samples. You will pay only for S&H, but you will be provided a coupon to recoup those charges should you chose to purchase a full size product at a later time.

Kate Somerville ExfoliKate

I have never wanted a larger sampler so much in all of my sampling life. As a rule I do not use exfoliators. I do not have sensitive skin, but every exfoliator I have ever used tends to over dry my skin and produce worse blemishes than the ones I’m trying to correct. ExfoliKate did neither. After just one use, my skin was actually noticeably smoother and softer. As a bonus, it has a wonderful scent of cinnamon & figs.

I have never used an exfoliator that compares to ExfoliKate, so I can not say whether the price is too hefty or not, but I can say that price would be the only deterrent for me to continue using the product. ExfoliKate appears to be available locally at department stores and will cost anywhere from $22 for .5 oz to $175 for 5 oz.

Vertere Dramatic Transformation Cream

This cream asserts that it will help with the appearance of aging, hyperpigmentation and adult acne all in one cream and for all skin tones. While I do not have any of these skin issues in a major way yet, I did dab it on the laugh line areas and on a couple of blotchy areas around my nose. My conclusion is, it has a wonderful baby lotion smell! I haven’t seen a noticeable difference in my skin. However, the product is very dense and therefor the sample was more generous than I originally thought. If it does actually work for all of the skin problems listed, the $135/1 oz price tag might not be as steep as imagined should it actually be replacing 3 separate skin creams. Unless you are local to certain areas in OH, Vertere Dramatic Transformation Cream appears to be available online only.

And that’s all for this week. Will you be starting your own Sampler Challenge soon?

2 thoughts on “My Sampler Challenge

I Heart Comments

